PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety and work

MissEmilia
22-07-16, 18:08
Hi everyone, apologies for the long post.

Just looking for advice really. Im a young lady in my early 20s and I've been working in my current job for quite a few years now. I've suffered from anxiety for about the same amount of time - one particular incident I had involved me being rushed to the local a&e because my anxiety made me go clammy/dizzy and i was getting chest pains. I ended up being there for 7 hours and the first thing my boss said afterwards was "will you be in work tomorrow?". I had some really low points while in the job. It's a public facing role which is very busy and we were getting a lot of angry, abusive people who went off on us because we were the people who sat at the reception desk. I felt suicidal, depressed, I began to feel like nobody at work liked me. I drank on nights before work to try and forget about things, but on a few occasions I turned up to work feeling nauseous and had to be sent home. My boss found out and I was warned about this behaviour, so I tried to get myself back on track. She referred me to occupational health who were great. They put me on sick for a month so I could focus on getting my health back on track, I started on medication and stopped drinking. When I came back to work I felt motivated and ready to give myself a second chance.