PDA

View Full Version : Melanoma fear! Freaking out

Denisse
24-07-16, 08:31
This is my first time on this site. I came here because I'm really scared. I've been concerned about melanoma before but now I feel like I'm right to be concerned. A few days ago I noticed a mole on my calf (most common site for women with melanoma!) that has definetely changed. It follows almost all the melanoma characteristics!! It is assymetrical, it has very different shades of brown and it has a faded part. It is a very small mole but it has definelty raised and maybe become darker and a little hard. The area around it is also raised and pink :( I made a dermatologist appointment but they can't see me in a month!! I'm freaking out because I don't want to die (I'm 18) and I know that melanoma spreads fast and the more it spreads the bigger the chance it will come back! I know for a fact this mole has changed but my family thinks I'm overreacting and my GP will probably think so too because I've talked about melanoma in the past. I feel like I'm in a lot of danger and that this is urgent and something horrible will happen if I wait a month. I've also heard that many doctors don't realize it's melanoma or that they say it's all clear and then it comes back.
I can't sleep or hang out with friends because of this anxiety and nobody takes me seriously :'(
I know it was long so thank you guys for readingnand have a wonderful day

NancyW
24-07-16, 14:21
I know this fear and I'm sorry you're going through it.
I had a solid black spot come up on the top of my hand.
Fit every characteristic of melanoma.
I couldn't get in for a month either, I felt like every minute this thing was spreading in my body.
I called the dermatologist, asked to be put on a cancellation list. They called a few days later and I got in.
Dr removed it, I was sent home to worry myself half to death...
It was benign.