PDA

View Full Version : short introduction

sunset_5
28-07-16, 20:52
Hello :)

I am new to this site - I stumbled upon it when I was reading about anxiety on the internet.

Yup, it's what I google search most these days.

So…I've never really been diagnosed with anxiety, but…

For most of my childhood and early teenage years, I was bullied at school, and even though it is a very long time ago, I think that was the most difficult time of my life and probably what triggered my anxiety. I was laughed at, beaten, spit at, harassed by the students… and the teachers said stuff like I was difficult because I was too shy and that I wouldn't get far in life.

When I was 14, I started having depression. Every morning, I was sick because I was so scared to go to school. I started having suicidal thoughts and felt completely worthless.

I eventually got out of the depression when I joined the school's music group. I started playing the guitar and writing my own lyrics. And then I changed my life and changed schools. Little by little, things got better. People were nicer to me generally but I still had a hard time settling in. I think what I always struggled most with was that people always said I was too quiet. I never felt accepted for who I was.

Now, I am 27 years old and I would say I have gotten pretty far. I am still an introvert, but 6 years ago, I made my dream come true and went to university abroad for 4 years. No one would ever have thought that… especially not me! I learned so much about myself during that experience...

It was also when I started actively thinking about anxiety. I didn’t even really feel scared, but then my heart would start pounding. I also noticed having difficulty with bigger groups of people. And I noticed being preoccupied to a very irrational extent what other people thought of me.
I started meditating regularly 3 years ago, which has been helping me a lot. Nowadays I would say I have good and bad days.