PDA

View Full Version : Pregnant and terrified

sienna2
30-07-16, 18:31
Hi everyone,

So I found out I am pregnant (unplanned) and I am so terrified.
I suffered anxiety really badly previously for a few years, and did CBT which really helped.
But since I found out I'm pregnant, all my anxiety has come back tenfold.

As it wasn't a planned pregnancy, I wasn't being particularly careful about my diet or health, so during the first couple of weeks I wasn't perfect and took some medications that I have now found out can cause real problems with the baby. Since I found this out I've felt constantly guilty and terrified I might have done some damage.

As my anxiety has come back so strongly I am also really scared that me being anxious will be effecting the baby. Every waking moment I feel genuine, complete terror about the baby and it's health and the future.

I am a student, live in shared accommodation, could never afford my own place, overall my finances are terrible (around -£2000, not including student loan etc). I can barely afford food and clothing let alone healthy foods and paying for a baby.

The baby's dad is in the picture but we aren't even together and he's become distant with me which has made my anxiety even worse.

Every minute that I'm awake I cry, unless I'm out when I genuinely have to hold back tears til I get back indoors. I'm so scared my baby might be born with a medical problem, mental or physical, because of the medications I took and because of my anxiety I really can't control. I am also really scared that me being upset and crying is also causing damage so I really try not to cry but I can't help it, I just feel so overwhelmed and scared.

I don't know what to do.

Any words of advice or opinion would be really appreciated.

Noivous
30-07-16, 18:50
Have you talked about it with someone close to you...sibling, mom, dad, close friend...that may help in more ways than one.

N.

Carrie8484
30-07-16, 18:52