PDA

View Full Version : Pyschotherapy

Smarteenie
21-03-07, 21:23
Hi there. I just wondered if anyone could help. I have been undergoing pyschotherapy for panic attacks and have to say I'm finding it all a bit frustrating! I've been attending weekly sessions since October 2006 and although we have talked about aspects of my past that have been difficult, we do spend a huge amount of time not saying anything at all while my therapist is obviously waiting for me to say something significant. The therapist has never mentioned ending the treatment and every time I ask a question I get the response "Well, what do you think?". I do feel that I need to be guided and advised more so I am sure that CBT is the way to move forward. Maybe I'm just being a bit unkind but is there anyone who has found that psychotherapy makes a difference?
Thanks for your help.
:wacko:

honeybee
21-03-07, 21:35
i went to see a ciounsillor and it was like that, i stopped wasting my money... think it might help but with just a different person perhaps???

Ger
21-03-07, 22:12
I know what you mean. I've been having counselling for a few months and don't feel that it's going anywhere. I just ramble on about my worries and the counsellor is nice and sympathetic, but.... I think it might be the wrong method for me. The last time I went to the doctor he mentioned CBT but I just told him I was already having therapy. But I think I'll see if I can change to CBT too as it sounds really focussed and specific for panic/anxiety. Maybe counselling is better for other things.

Dying_Swan
22-03-07, 13:42
Hello all.

Just read this and think CBT would probably be more helpful. When my panic disorder started, I had months of counselling/psychotherapy, and it just got worse. A lot of the sessions were pretty silent, and nothing very helpful ever came out of it.