PDA

View Full Version : tinnitus

lotusblossom
23-08-16, 13:11
Hi I am a newbie first time I have posted but visited this site many times well here goes. diagnosed with G A D 5 years ago had everyone of the symptoms sensations and feelings that you have all had and are still having many come and go and I have got used to some of them and no longer worry but at the moment Iam struggling with tinnitus its more of a loud hissing noise and has been driving me daft for over a week the longest time I have had it. Ears were syringed a couple of months ago so no problem there. I bought a book titled At Last A Life which helped a lot and I read a chapter when I feel this can not be anxiety its got to be something else and I start to feel better. That book is my CBT because everything in it is so relevant to what I have been through and am still going through. fingers crossed my tinnitus will fade sooner rather than later , I live in hope

venusbluejeans
23-08-16, 13:17
Hiya lotusblossom and welcome to NMP :welcome:

Why not take a look at our articles on our home page, they contain a wealth of information and are a great starting place for your time on the forum.

I hope you find the as site helpful and informative as I have and that you get the help and support you need here and hope that you meet a few friends along the way :yesyes:

whatisthis
14-09-16, 16:21
I also have GAD and developed hissing/white noise about 5 months ago randomly one morning. It drove my anxiety mad at first with the fear of it getting worse. I mostly forget about it now but sometimes I panic about it which makes it worse and then starts the cycle.

I'm super aware of protecting my hearing now, ENT said it just happens and could be anything. Waiting on MRI results and referred to a tinnitus clinic. I've seen that some people think its linked to anxiety and get be resolved. Key is just accepting and living with it while hoping your brain tunes it out.