PDA

View Full Version : Working with anxiety

jadedreams
23-08-16, 18:49
Hey everyone, for those of you who work I'm just wondering how do you handle the days when your anxiety is worse? I am a computer analyst and really like my job and the people there. The problem is I do a lot of problem solving and upgrades. There is normal stress about these things that everyone here experiences, but right now with anxiety everything is magnified.

I had an upgrade fail last night which would normally would stress me out. But with the anxiety it REALLY stressed me out and I didn't hardly sleep after needing to revert back to the old system. So here I am at work today, very tired, anxiety up, intrusive thoughts up (they really suck) and feeling like I can't do my job. The thing is I think most people here would say I do a good job but my anxiety has seemed to destroy my confidence in myself with work (and other things). How do I get that confidence back and not freak out when an upgrade or something else fails as these things happen?

Thanks for listening!

skymaid
23-08-16, 18:59
symptoms of a tired mind. im a fellow IT guy currently suffering from burnout.

make sure you allow an hour or so before bed doing something relaxing to "unplug". a decent sleep is vital.

once your mind has had time to rest a bit your reaction to your stressful mentally intensive job will go back to normal (as will your confidence).

dont do what I did and set yourself unrealistic expectations and never allow any downtime for your brain.

jadedreams
26-08-16, 17:36