PDA

View Full Version : Head Injury Anxiety, can't sleep

alexvush
30-08-16, 04:28
Hi all!

New here...I'm 24 y/o male and I am a medical student, so definitely involved in the medical field and a prime target for health anxiety. I've struggled with HA for years, but it's been relatively in control for the past year or so...then today I whacked my head in the shower (picked up a bar of soap, went up too fast and hit my head kind of hard on the back of my skull).

I didn't black out or lose consciousness, and my symptoms are all pretty minor right now minus maybe being kind of tired. My concern is that I live alone, and I know some things can be pretty insidious with head injuries (and often go unnoticed). Basically, I really would rather not go to the ER because it's late here and I work at the hospital I would have to go to, but I also don't want to go to sleep and never wake up (dramatic, I know, but I can't escape the thought).

Any advice would help - I know people bump their heads all the time + my history of HA means I'm unlikely to be in any real danger, just can't shake this anxiety :/.

hanshan
30-08-16, 07:57
Hi alexvush,

From the first website I looked at: "And it's very rare to get a traumatic brain injury from being hit on the back of the head. The back part doesn't stretch very much because it's part of the neck. If it did, people after a concussion would complain of being blind, because that's the part of the brain that controls vision." (I think the "part of the neck" bit refers to the brain continuing into the spinal cord).