PDA

View Full Version : CBT reject !

lil-bubble
21-09-16, 22:33
Sorry its a bit of a self pity post.

Started group CBT 3 weeks ago, turned myself inside out to force myself to attend the first 2 weeks. Tonight 3rd session and first 1-2-1 appt. Actually opened up a bit (this is massively rare for me). Ended by being told the group isn't right for me ! Wish I hadn't bothered.

I really don't know why I'm surprised. It's just somewhere else I don't fit in.

My anxiety has been overwhelming this week but at least felt for once, I had done some in the right direction to help me manage it.

Initially I was upset when i left, then a little anger, now i just feel despondent :meh:

Sorry if posted in wrong place I'm still new to this

MyNameIsTerry
21-09-16, 23:23
That would bring mixed emotions to any of us. You reach out for help and it takes weeks before they even tell you this? So, they like wasting NHS funds and delaying treatment for both you and someone else in the queue?!!! That's the point of initial assessment and the initial referral.

Why did they say it wasn't right for you? Because you need something more intensive, tailored or a different form of therapy altogether?

Kathryn313
21-09-16, 23:30
When I started 1:1 CBT, the therapist did mention that it was possible that I may have some unresolved grief issues that might present themselves. If that was the case then might need to work on that before any behavioural therapy would work. Did they suggest an alternative for you to persue?

lil-bubble
22-09-16, 00:01
That would bring mixed emotions to any of us. You reach out for help and it takes weeks before they even tell you this? So, they like wasting NHS funds and delaying treatment for both you and someone else in the queue?!!! That's the point of initial assessment and the initial referral.

Why did they say it wasn't right for you? Because you need something more intensive, tailored or a different form of therapy altogether?