PDA

View Full Version : Work anxiety update

positivegirly
22-09-16, 08:04
Hi guys, I wanted to post an update to my previous thread, I'm now coming towards the end of week 2 in my new job and I'm still not sure it's the right job for me. My anxiety has continued to sit with me night and day, I'm still waking up at stupid hours of the morning worrying about everything and I can't seem to relax at all, even in the evenings when I get home I'm going over and over work in my mind. I have only been there 2 weeks and I think I'm feeling very overwhelmed with all the new information, new people and trying to fit in and get up to speed with everyone else. My partner said he thinks I'm too hard on myself and should take one day at a time, he said mistakes are likely to happen in the first few weeks/months of a new job because I'm still learning and I will learn from my mistakes. I know he is right but I just can't seem to take that advice and go with it! It's almost as if I'm beating myself up that I'm not able to do the job perfectly well on my own straight away! How mad is that?! And I know it! But that awful little anxiety person sitting on my shoulder is laughing at me and telling me this will always be like this...you will never pick this job up....you will fail...you can't do it. I hate it because I know I'm not silly and I have been trying my absolute best to learn these past couple of weeks, iv picked up small parts of the job really well but other parts I'm feeling lost, although Iv been shown a few times some things I just don't get straight away and I'm scared to do things alone In case I make a mistake. The job isn't a job I can take my time with either, I'm a receptionist so I have a queue of people in front of me most of the day which adds to the pressure of getting up to speed. I also have a phone ringing most of the day which has to be answered and the whole department is just the busiest place I have ever worked. My manager has told me the department I'm i