PDA

View Full Version : Is it best to confront your anxiety?

Scrugger
01-10-16, 05:57
Hi, I have GAD and am on a lot of medication.

My anxiety is closely related to work. Example thoughts are, am I good enough, they will laugh at my presentation, I'm going to have a panic attack at the client site/hotel etc.

I work as an IT Consultant so there is pressure.

I really want to confront and move through my anxiety rather than let it control me.

Has anyone done this successfully and do you have any tips?

Lady Penelope
01-10-16, 10:59
Hello
I have not done this yet but I have just started one to one CBT with a therapist and that is the advice she has given me. I have read some good books which seem to make sense but I know it's easier said than done! Have you read the Dare book?

brucealmighty
01-10-16, 11:41
from personal experience it is definitely a good idea to confront your fears, but I would add to do it gradually, there was a technique used called flooding where your fear of lifts would be dealt with by getting in a lift with your therapist who may then press the emergency stop so your fear would be maximised. this would cause you to realise that it was all fine really. Or if it was me I`d very possibly beat the therapist to death and wait for the authorities.

I would try to accept that there will always be some level of fear, nerves, excitement etc when you are in front of people. peter kay for example gets dreadful panic before a show and many musicians would look down, or even keep their eyes closed because the thought of a huge crowd was too much so they had their own coping mechanisms.

I have been in meetings before I ever had anxiety and when told about job losses I felt hot, slightly sick, noticed my heartbeat etc - all the symptoms of borderline panic. fast forward 20 years and I`d link those feelings to panic, and maybe set myself off even now. So the awareness is always there.