PDA

View Full Version : dental worries

unsure_about_this
05-10-16, 21:18
I am due to go to the dentist for my reguarly appointments later this month.

I have cold and got a small white spot/lump on my gum sio worry whether it is cancer or I got an abscess forming, had one last year and was in pain before making an emergecy appointment.
or just plaque.

I am not in my pain so wondering whether this is abscess I am scared if I see anything different. I dont smoke or drink booze.

Whilst on the subject of teeth I am embarrassed how my teeth look, has the dentist see worst than me. I get scared seeing the dentist

MyNameIsTerry
06-10-16, 00:20
If it's an abscess, you will find out pretty quickly from the pain you get with them.

If you have a cold, it could be related. It may be a basic infection or perhaps thrush or just some plaque? I wouldn't worry about cancer, oral cancers are rare. Keeping good oral hygiene will reduce any risk to oral cancer anyway according to the NHS so that's something we can & should all be doing and for a variety of reasons.

I'm sure dentists have seen some pretty nasty nashers through their training & practice. It's like worrying a proctologist would have a problem seeing some roids. It's just part of the job to them all, they probably see much the same every day so are desensitised to it all.

So, unless your dentist says doesn't say something along the lines of 'oh, er, do you mind if I take a photo of this for the Royal Society monthly magazine', you will be fine! :winks:

unsure_about_this
06-10-16, 13:22
Thank you for your reply.

I am not in any pain, I think by now I would know like within hours. My face not swollen, gums normal for me.

the last time I had an abscess was in 2015 and was up and down all night like a yo-yo and was struggled to eat. It started a few days after I went to the dentist for a normal checkup.