PDA

View Full Version : Rabies??? Please help! I was licked by a lost dog!

Roosterruby
07-10-16, 19:24
Hi there!!
I am completely new to this site but I feel a lot of kinship with other posters, as I have had severe health anxiety for almost all my life and I am only 20! Bummer, right? Multiple visits to the ER a month and constant panic are not fun things to deal with and I'm sure many of you can relate to that!
Anyway, yesterday I was walking through my college campus, and a very cute small dog comes running at me and my friend from a wooded enclosure! He approaches us and is very friendly and energetic. We see that he has a collar on with his owner's phone number and his name, and his owner is nowhere to be found, so we suppose he is a lost dog! We pet him and he licks us both numerous times! Why I worry is because I have several small cuts on my hands (because I am an artist and accidentally scratch or nick my hands with my tools all the time!) and I'm almost sure this little dog licked them! Also, I picked him up and he scrambled quite a bit (because he was FULL of energy) and so I could have gotten some minor scratch somewhere? Some campus police came and took the dog and said they would find his owner. I don't know if he was found or is up to date on his rabies vaccine or what! I am terrified that I have contracted rabies. Is this possible?? Please help!!

ServerError
07-10-16, 19:33
You would need it to have sunk its teeth into you. And you'd have noticed something was seriously wrong with the dog.

Rabies is phenomenally rare in the United States. You don't have it.

paranoid-viking
07-10-16, 20:28
I read that there is about 2 people annualy in the entire United States; in a population of 300 million people unfortunate enough to get rabies; and the ilness is virutally non-existing in developed countries. Still; if you are worried you may ask your GP if they think it would be nescesarry to take shots for it.