PDA

View Full Version : All Roads Lead to Cancer...

JEN_PR
10-10-16, 19:37
I'm new to NMP, but it's been somewhat of a relief to find people that feel the same, since anxiety can make you feel so alienated from everybody. I am a 42 year old woman, single mom, and lived in Washington, DC for 5 years. I've been separated from my husband for a year now. Last year, when it became clear that we needed a separation, my GAD, that had been pretty much under control for more than ten years without need of medication, came barreling back. This time it came back as a fear of skin cancer, and finding any weird looking mole that could be melanoma. I went to a dermatologist for an overall check up, and he only found one he wanted to check further, so he biopsied it. Waiting for the biopsy results was unbearable, and I had to seek help from my GP, who prescribed Lexapro and Xanax to help me sleep. She recommended I moved in with a friend while starting the new meds, since I was very wary of staying alone in my house.

I started feeling better and was able to move to a place of my own after a while. Then my mother died unexpectedly last December. My family was shaken to the core. I had to move back to Puerto Rico to help my siblings, and my daughter who was living with my mother while going to school in San Juan. I moved back in April and things have not worked out as I had hoped, financially and emotionally.