PDA

View Full Version : Did I have a small pulmonary embolism?

blox123
09-11-16, 08:41
When I was around 8 weeks pregnant I had a quire sudden dullish pain in the centre of my chest..it spread to my left arm and jaw.. It hurt if I tried to take a deep breath.. It went away after around 20 or so minutes... I never went to my go, until around 6 weeks later after wondering whether I'd had a heart attack... He told me he didn't think I had and put it down to anxiety... It has now been about 12 weeks since the pain in my chest and I've read about pulmonary embolism.. It seems to match my symptoms. Do you think this is what I had? And what should I do next.

GadGirl
09-11-16, 15:58
Hi Hun, TBH I'm not a doctor but if you had something like that I'm sure you would have ended up in hospital for it. My friend had one of them and was quite ill in hospital for a while.

SLA
09-11-16, 15:59
Did I have a small pulmonary embolism?

Probably not.

But worth getting checked.

Catherine S
09-11-16, 18:21
The fact that you were sitting in front of him 6 weeks after it happened talking about it, would probably have been enough for him to know you hadn't experienced anything serious. He would've referred you to a cardiologist if he thought it was, especially as you are pregnant. Best wishes.

ISB x

blox123
10-11-16, 11:25
I went to see the gp again yesterday and feel like I just get fobbed off because they put me down as having anxiety!
I know the pain I had was not normal and it's been bothering me for 12 weeks but they won't look into it further, I feel even more vulnerable being pregnant x

Catherine S
10-11-16, 11:53