PDA

View Full Version : Shin Splints

KeeKee
17-11-16, 09:35
I didn't know where to post this as I'm not anxious about it. I am, however fed up of getting what I think are shin Splints. It started a couple of months ago, it's mainly when I walk uphill or walk fast. I know this can happen when you are doing something you aren't used to but I've been doing the school run for 5 years now and never had it happen before, it's absolutely killing my shins now every single day. Today it was the worst it's ever been as it lasted until I got home even when I was walking on even ground and really slowly. I don't understand why I'd all of a sudden start getting these.

SLA
17-11-16, 10:31
How to Get Rid of Shin Splints

If you have shin splints, a number of exercises or activities can help:

Decrease activity or make sure that you gradually increase your activity. For example, when running, you should never add more than about 10% volume each week.

Run or exercise on softer surfaces. For example, if you run on concrete, which is one of the hardest surfaces you could possibly run on, switch to pavement, or better yet, the gravel or dirt on the side of the road, off-road running trails, or grass.

Choose your footwear wisely. Rather than buying your shoes at a sporting goods store or online, go to a store that specializes in selling running shoes and have them watch you stand, walk and run, and then make shoe recommendations based on your unique body mechanics.

Change worn-out shoes. Running shoes should be replaced every 300-500 miles, or every 3-6 months--whichever comes first. If you frequently run on hard surfaces, you’ll need to change your running shoes more frequently.

Train your core. A strong core will allow you to place less stress on your lower limbs with each step. Check out “What Is Your Core,” “How to Get A Flat Stomach,” and “How to Make Your Abs Stronger.”