PDA

View Full Version : Current Fear:ALS

emmegee
02-12-16, 21:01
Hi All-

Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this. I'm a newbie to this forum and have suffered from HA my entire life. I'm a 45 year old single mom with two teens and am a high school teacher. My HA seems to have a three year cycle, each time a different disease, symptom etc that I fixate. I slowly takes over my life over the course of a few weeks until I am in the thralls of a complete "anxiety state" that takes months to come down from.

In the past year, I have heard the story of two "friends of a friend" that have been diagnosed with ALS. I know a lot about it because I hyperfocus and research diseases I hear about. Last year, a colleague started showing signs of bulbar ALS. I feared for her but hoped it was something else. I have watched her decline over the past year and a few weeks ago it was announced to our staff that she had a diagnosis of ALS and was not coming back to work. I was immediately very anxious, couldn't stop thinking about it. Made me a bit depressed but could function. That lasted for a week or so and then I started feeling weakness in my left arm. And my thumb and index finger feel "weak" or just strange. (This is perceived weakness, not clinical weakness). This freaked me out. This arm/hand/finger fatigue has lasted for a couple weeks now and I am in full-blown anxiety mode. I also have a very slight dull ache in the whole left arm. I saw my pcp and neurologist (not mentioning ALS but just the arm weakness finger fatigue/loss of dexterity thing.) Both said I was fine. This left arm/hand/finger issue has persisted.

I also made an appt with my therapist and psychiatrist. Started taking klonipin and just started zoloft which I have both used in the past. I have been med-free until this week.