PDA

View Full Version : Getting A Puppy - Anxiety

coastgirl
21-12-16, 05:33
Hi all,

I LOVE dogs. Love them to death. Grew up with a family dog until she died just after I graduated college. Dogs make things better - whether it's a hike, picnic, car ride, netflix and chill, or just simply coming home to a happy wagging tail. Anytime a dog is around my mood is quite noticeably better. I've always wanted another one of my own, but put it off for various reasons. Right now I'm in my early 30's, live in a great 1 bedroom condo, and work from home. The dream setup for getting a new puppy.

However, ever since I put the down payment I have been having anxiety attacks. I think I'm afraid of change. I also think I'm doubting myself and overthinking it to hell and back again. I'm having what if's....what if I change my mind and decide a dog isn't for me (a rather irrational thought...last year I lived with a roommate for about a year and a half and she had a dog who I absolutely adored, and I actually did more activities with the dog than SHE did. She actually was doing my anxiety some good I think, just being there and being her loving dog self). Another what-if I'm having is what if she confines me too much to my apartment? I know puppies are time consuming at first, and normally I'd LOVE raising a puppy, but for some reason I'm afraid it's going to be the end of my social life forever and ever amen. Which is another irrational thought....yes I will have to reschedule some things, but having a new pup could actually open a lot of opportunities to meeting new people as well.