PDA

View Full Version : Woke up with a wound on my ankle...

JennyX
24-12-16, 01:23
Dear all,

It is my first time to post here. Thank god I finally found a place like this where I could tell everyone about my anxiety. So the thing actually happened two months ago, around oct. 16th. I woke up that morning with a wound on my ankle. It bled. And right beside it was a piece of skin broken in the shape of a triangle but no blood. As someone who generally fears rabies, my mind immediately told me that I was bit by a mouse or a rat in my sleep and I slept right through it. I'm still in college and I live in a college dorm. I immediately called my dad and he laughed and dismissed it.

I cleaned the wound then and it healed properly and no sign of infection was ever present. I didn't go to see a professional, which I regret immensely now. Even I go to the school clinic I highly doubt if they will give me rabies shots.

I actually finished my last dose of rabies shots in July 4th, for suspicion of rabies from a stray cat. I received four good doses. I googled and it said if you are exposed again, you are supposed to receive two boosters, no matter when you received your last shot. So I assume if I was exposed again but did not update my boosters I would die eventually.

I know Xmas is coming, but I am worrying like hell and I am in no mood for it. I know two months has passed, but that just makes me feel like my death toll is nearing me! Right now, I am so scared I don't know what I should do. I cannot talk to my parents since they will just get so mad at me.

Should I go to ER by myself later? What do you think I should do? I am so thankful to whoever can help me here.

BikerMatt
24-12-16, 01:36
I think whilst sleeping, you probably just caught it with your toenail on your other foot?

JennyX
24-12-16, 01:48
I think whilst sleeping, you probably just caught it with your toenail on your other foot?