PDA

View Full Version : Panic Attacks are ruining my job.

LauLau
29-12-16, 21:02
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to this but I felt like I needed to off load/ talk to people in a similar situation.
So over the last couple of months I have been suffering with quite bad panic attacks and they seem to be the worst when I am about to leave for work. (I work in retail) Usually my nerves tend to fade slightly once I am there for a few hours but lately the attacks have been getting worse to the point that I had to go see a doctor because I was feeling too terrible and scared to go to work so I had no choice but to call in sick.
When I went to the doctors I was told that I seemed to have serve depression which was causing the panic attacks and general feelings of sickness. My doctor prescribed me some anti depressants but warned me that there was some side effects and if I felt suicidal/ more depressed/ like my panic attacks were getting worse to stop taking them. Alas, they did make me feel worse and I couldn't handle my panic attacks and felt so sad that I couldn't bare being around anyone at all, that includes my own mother who I can usually speak to about anything and everything. So I went back to the doctors and they told me there was also counselling (which I am currently sorting) and to knock the anti depressants on the head as what I described was worrying.

Anyways, back to work...
I experienced two more panic attacks which left me unable to go to work and as understanding as work was, today really left me feeling terrible and horribly shaken up.