PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety, Irrational Fears, Being Bisexual

Probs92
13-01-17, 16:20
Hi Everyone,

I am relatively new to the whole anxiety scene. I posted in a forum a couple of weeks ago and I was really impressed with the help I received. There is something to be said for the sense of community in dealing with anxiety and associated disorders.

Anyway, my journey with anxiety began in November of 2016 with stress induced twitching in my foot and calf, which spread to my other leg. I started getting tremors and immediately self diagnosed myself with ALS/MND. That began the spiral hellhole into which I fell.

After running every test and realizing that I am fit as a fiddle, I battled severe anxiety and depression for a little over a month. I continue to fight the good fight against anxiety on a daily basis. I am going through therapy and medication (and meditation for that matter). Last week was the first week I was doing great, I only had to use the emergency panic attack medication twice the whole week. I thought anxiety was going to be in the rear view mirror and that I would be able to finally move on from this horrible period of my life.

On Monday of this week however, things changed. I don't know why, but I started reading an article on transgender legislation in the states and I immediately began to have a panic attack, and since that moment, I have developed this fear that I am going to become transgender. I understand that it is an irrational fear if I have never felt like a woman (I am a guy), or I never felt out of place in my skin, but now I cannot shake the fear that at 24 years of age, I am going to become a woman.

I am beginning to think that this might be related to me coming out as bisexual and dating a man, but who is to say.

Does anyone know anything to help me deal with this fear? Has anyone had similar fears that can relate?

Kuatir
13-01-17, 16:36