PDA

View Full Version : when health anxiety took control over my life

ell19
24-01-17, 14:08
i decided to write this post to share what happened to me a few months ago and maybe find some advices.
my health anxiety started eight months ago. it was may. i was scared of having a lungs cancer because of my pain in the upper back and my short breaths.
one of the things i always loved most was dance. i've been dancing for eleven years, i loved it with all my heart. i loved how you can express your feelings with your body.
when this anxiety started i had to stop. it was the hardest decision that i have ever taken. but i was scared. scared of not being able to breathe during a class. scared of fainting. scared of having a heart attack. i suffered a lot because of this.
now, eight months later i'm still suffering and missing it.
every single day i wish i could start dancing again. but it's awful when your body says yes, but your mind keeps saying no, you can't do it.
and i just wish i could be strong enough to take those horrible thoughts and get rid of them. and start doing again what i used to love.

SLA
24-01-17, 14:25
Interesting.

We often turn our backs on things, and run away from sources of anxiety. But anxiety is always within, we cannot run from it.

When we stop doing the things we enjoy, our quality of life goes down, and we open ourselves up to depression and an unfulfilled life.

So the only solution, is to find a way to dance again...

...to do that we need to overcome that voice that says "no" because it is not ours. It is the subconsious. It has associated the prospect of dancing with the sensation of panic. So when you think about dancing, that scared voice pipes up.

It has no reason to be scared. Its an illusion. You love dancing, and dancing is awesome.

So lets find a way back...

Could you go along and watch?