PDA

View Full Version : Health Anxiety worsening with pregnancy :(

hellosugar87
26-01-17, 13:29
Its my first time posting in here.....

I don't know why I'm posting, I just feel like I have no where else to go and I'm feeling so panicked today.

I have health anxiety which was triggered by the birth of my first child. My health anxiety focuses around me dying and leaving my child behind. (my mother died of cancer so I feel my fear comes from knowing what it feels like to be 'left behind)

I recently found out I am pregnant again and although my health anxiety had been mild and controlled beforehand and I am already finding it completely out of control and I'm falling down a slippery slope of constant panic and non functioning.

I obsess over every ache and pain like many do and always assume the worst. I have an absolutely massive fear of cancer for obvious reasons, but also of everything else- because I'm terrified that anything I might catch, even a cold, or a tiny cut on my hand might lead to sceptecimia, which will kill me. So I'm constantly on high alert, all day every day. Its so much worse now I am pregnant because I spend every day feeling sick, dizzy from low blood pressure ect ect...all things I know In my head are part and parcel of pregnancy but it instantly triggers my entire body into high alert. So I'm already feeling terrible...but now something has happened that's really tipped me over the edge of control and I'm just uncontrollably freaking out.

In all of this, I have managed really well to keep my health worries totally separate from my daughter. If she is ill, I am rational, I think clearly and I don't over worry at all, I don't constantly take her to the doctors for reassurance, I don't medicate her on the chance of a slightest sniffle...I'm like a completely different-NORMAL person when it comes to her.