PDA

View Full Version : I'm in a new job and anxiety is ten times worse

brooklyn79
29-01-17, 10:46
Hi I recently posted as I was so anxious starting a new job. I'd been in and out of work for over 6 months due to redundancy from a job I loved. I went into a couple of other jobs before this one and but left after a month due to anxiety because they were long commutes and one the manager was so nasty to me I just had to get out so everyone I know I just keeps getting annoyed at me saying oh here she goes again running away from jobs.

I have so far done 2 weeks in new role and everyone that doesn't understand my anxiety keeps saying oh stick at the job it will be OK soon but I just want to leave. The job itself was not what I thought and I'm trying to learn a complicated computer system and it's pure data analysis and figure work as opposed to what was advertised which was general admin, typing letters etc which is what I enjoy. I'm not very good with figures and data and wouldn't have applied if it was advertised as such.

I find myself checking the time counting down to going home and having so many toilet breaks I think the staff think I'm crazy! There are 3 other new staff who do different roles who seem so confident and chatty to everyone too and I feel so quiet and shy and feel like everyone is judging me for hardly speaking. I just don't feel like I fit in and the work is too complex for me. Plus they make me go to weekly meetings and want me to report on figures and I stumble over my words and go red any time I talk!

I have to stop myself crying and spending my weekend worried sick and hiding away in my bedroom. I just don't know what to do. I'm frantically looking for other work but making myself physically sick. I'm really bad at telling managers I'm not happy too I just keep it bottled up because I don't want them knowing and judging me as I feel like I don't know them well enough.