PDA

View Full Version : odd feeling

JD
28-10-03, 09:27
o.k, i'm new to this but i wondered if anybody else has a similar problem to mine...about a month ago a deleloped intense panic attacks which seem to have been triggered by a weird obsession with "being alive".. i feel really embarrassed about how i feel, but it's the oddest experience..it's as though i've developed a sudden awareness of the fact that i'm alive..has anyone else had a similar experience?

Meg
28-10-03, 22:56
Hi JD,

Mine was feeling like everything was just out of reach.
With anxiety we all get obsessed with a few things that we interpret as being different, life changing or potentially dangerous. This is extremely normal - everyone gets them - the difference is that anxious people cannot dismiss these thoughts and keep them close trying to analyse why we feel like this and quite how obtuse the thoughts are, thus perpetuating the odd feelings. Whilst we give them energy, time and power they will persist.

These are very different from a true OCD profile which is a whole different ball game.

How did these sensations make you feel in order to trigger panic ?

Meg

Watch your thoughts, they become your words...
Watch your words, they become your actions... Watch your actions, they become your habits... Watch your habits, they become your character... Watch your character, it becomes your destiny...

JD
29-10-03, 09:02
I understand what you're saying but i'm finding this so difficult. I have been put on Sertraline, which i don't know if it is working. I feel like i'm gradually losing touch with the person i was before..the crazy thing is, i'm aware that i'm doing it but it's so distressing. i feel very trapped inside this "new me" and i can't escape. its so frustrating, i can't do anything except cry..and the worst thing, i can't really remember what it is like to feel "normal"..

twister
12-11-03, 13:49