PDA

View Full Version : SAD

cry
02-02-17, 13:12
Hi everyone,

I first started suffering from anxiety (including health anxiety) last January. I had one session of CBT but because the waiting list was so long by the time I was seen (was spring time) I felt better so found it pointless. I felt fine in general until around two weeks ago where I just had a wave of depression hit me. Since then I've been feeling down and had anxious thoughts again. So I'm definitely thinking this is seasonal, I went away for a month over Christmas and was in the sun and a week or so after I've come back I feel like this.

I was just wondering if anyone else notices they feel worse in the winter? Has anyone got any tips? I've contacted a local counselling service and I'll be going private to avoid the waiting time again, hopefully I'll be being seen next week.

Sphincterclench
02-02-17, 14:23
Mine is very much cyclical but more than seasonal I think its situational, and environmental.

Im no doctor, but for ME it seems to be the more time I spend in the house.

I work from home so I am tied to the house for at LEAST those times, toss in crap work hours in general, weather from Winter or Rain etc and my anxiety levels skyrocket.

When I can get out and go somewhere, if only the store or to drop a kid off at work, every little distraction and break from the house is critical for me. Several times a day I will log out of work and just pace out front of the house for a few minutes if the weather permits.

Maybe that can help you as well?

KeeKee
02-02-17, 14:29
I'm like this but the opposite. Light night and sunny days make me feel utterly horrendous. The Spring and Summer are very testing times for me.

I know for winter SAD there's a light thing that is supposed to help (can't remember the name), I've also read that there's a theory that winter depression could also be due to vitamin D deficiency so a supplement may help.

PASchoolSyndrome
02-02-17, 14:48