PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone here with anxiety work in an emotionally challenging field?

Citydeer
03-02-17, 21:15
I was wondering if anyone could share any experience or advice about being someone with anxiety or depression who works in an emotionally challenging field, such as social work or nurses etc I'm sure there's a lot of other fields i can't think of right now...

I have always worked in low stress mundane paper pushing jobs but I just finished a course in a humanitarian field because I wanted to do something more meanginful - I'm a very emotionally driven person so I guess it's important to me to feel passionate and inspired by what I do. However the stress of study and the confronting nature of some of the stuff i studied was part of the reason I think I developed panic disorder in my final semester last year. I'm on the road to recovery now (I'm currently travelling which has brought its own triggers) but I have now gone a month without a panic attack. in another month after spending some relaxing time visiting my parents back in Australia I will be back in the Uk looking for a job...

However last night after I had been very anxious all afternoon for no reason, my partner said he thinks I should avoid any front line social work jobs (like say being a case worker to homeless people) when I get back to the UK - because this could make my anxiety worse. I feel conflicted, on one hand I can see that being a possibility but on the other hand I wonder if it could be a good channel for me to throw my ever complex emotions into? Like I will be so busy worrying about my clients I will have no capacity to be anxious about myself. I feel like that's highly possible because at the moment on my travels I think most of my anxiety is coming from having too much spare time and no purpose, nothing to occupy my emotions.

Anyway if anyone has any thoughts I would love to hear them.

PunkyFish
04-02-17, 23:15