PDA

View Full Version : Why isn't the Diazepam working?

3faces
18-04-07, 13:11
Hey all!

I was prescribed some Diazepam to try and get me back to work this week. I have never used it before and my doctor only gave me 2mg tablets. I have tried cutting one in half first, then one tab and today two tabs to see if I could overcome my anxiety and NOTHING!!!:lac:

My body felt lovely and relaxed on the 4mg today but I walked to work and as I got closer the anxiety took over as usual. I've only really got to the end of this week to try and get back to work. Do you think I should try 6mg tomorrow or is this a hopeless cause.......feeling very sorry for myself I'm afraid, had high hopes of this medication helping me in the short term.:weep:

jo61
18-04-07, 13:26
What dosage have you been prescribed. Best stick to that I reckon.

sarah1984
18-04-07, 16:07
Hi!
I've taken diazepam in the past-initially at 2mg then at 5mg. Unfortunately there's no pill that magically takes anxiety away completely. I found diazepam made me feel all woozy and sleepy and certainly helped me calm down, but all the same, the anxiety was still there under the surface. It was just that I felt that I couldn't be bothered to think about it for the present-I just wanted to crawl into bed.

Krakers
18-04-07, 16:37
Hi all - Diazepam did the trick for me @ 5mg - I broke a 10mg tablet in half. Took it in the morning and didn't feel any aniety.

2 days later my doctor prescribed Chlordiazepoxide - 30mg at night, 10 mg in the morning. Its another Benzo, but (for me anyway) has no other side effects other than getting rid of the anxiety.

Only thing I am worried about is when its time to reduce (real soon). Even though I don't feel any side effects now, I'm sure coming off them won't be such a breeze.

Krakers.

Ellen70
18-04-07, 16:57