PDA

View Full Version : Terrified that I've got MS. Absolutely cannot stop thinking about it-

Newts
26-02-17, 19:15
Hey, everyone-

This is my first time posting here. I really needed to find a place to write all of this down. I think it would be really helpful for me if I could talk to other people who can relate to me. This is probably going to be long so I appreciate it if you stick with me throughout the whole thing :weep:

Anyway, lately I've been really scared of MS. Every free moment I have is spent thinking about it, and it's getting exhausting.

I''ve read, and been told by my doctor, that MS is not hereditary. Having a family member with the illness increases your chances of getting it slightly, but not by much. What worries me though is the fact that my father and his sister both have the disease. It makes me feel as though I've got it in my genes and it's inevitable that I'll get it someday.
No matter what anyone says to convince me otherwise, I'm just convinced that it's going to happen to me eventually and I can't stop thinking about it.

My aunt's MS is so subdued that you wouldn't even know she was sick if you saw her. She functions perfectly fine.

My father on the other hand is an absolute mess. He's completely immobile from the waste down, barely has any strength in his arms, has difficulty speaking and thinking, among a myriad of other health issues. His life is a complete nightmare.
I think what affected me so much about my father's illness is that he was diagnosed as soon as I was born. It was incredibly heartbreaking and painful to watch him deteriorate mentally and physically over the last 23 years. When I was young, he was able to run around, play video games with me, etc.

I am beyond terrified of that happening to me. It's all I can think about anymore. I'm not even sure what triggered this fear, but its been killing me the last few weeks.