PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Amylou0101
09-03-17, 08:16
Hi there,

Another newbie here. I've stumbled across this site a number of times in the past when I've been desperately Googling - but never taken the time to fully explore it and sign up until now.

I've suffered with anxiety for many years (I had my first panic attack at 14 and I'm 28 now) to varying degrees.

For the most part, I'm able to function pretty well day-to-day because, usually, my anxiety has a very specific trigger: travel. I find it virtually impossible to travel outside of the UK and I can only travel away within the UK under certain circumstances (I'm completely healthy, my husband is with me etc).

I got married last year and I decided I really wanted to finally try tackling it head on. I started CBT in September which has been reasonably helpful. I also tried Sertraline, but stopped taking them after a week (on the advice of my doctor) after experiencing horrendous side-effects.

Unfortunately, shortly after I started my CBT last year, a number of stressful events happened. I lost three family members quite suddenly in the space of three months, including my grandmother who I was very close to. I left the company I had worked at for 6 and a half years to start a new job (this actually should have been a positive thing but after all the other loss I found it very hard to leave my friends there and adjust). I've also been pretty under the weather since December with one virus or another and for me, being ill is a very big stress trigger.

All of this has meant that rather than helping me to conquer my travel anxiety - my CBT has largely turned into a fire-fighting exercise, trying to manage what has now (hopefully temporarily) become a much more generalised anxiety.

All of a sudden I'm struggling to get the train to work, struggling with social events (very unusual for me), struggling with even UK travel, and having a complete meltdown anytime I get a sniffle.