PDA

View Full Version : The head rush feeling!

Jm1990
17-03-17, 13:10
Hey all, I'm a newbie here so still trying to get my bearings!

I just wanted to talk about a certain symptom of my social anxiety that terrifies me. I haven't been diagnosed with Social Anxiety yet and I have my first appointment after years and years of suffering next week. But I'm almost certain this is what I'm suffering with.

So, yesterday I had my first panic attack in college during a lesson. I've been studying for the past few years and have grown to love my subject, my lecturer and my classmates. We are a small group and I do feel comfortable talking to them one on one or in small groups but infront of them all and the lecturer, I just go to pieces.

When talking as a class about a certain subject, I feel like I have so much to say. So much to contribute but anxiety has other ideas.

I feel like I constantly plan and repeat in my mind what I'm going to say. Almost rehearsing my sentences over and over. And then I build myself up. The physical symptoms of my anxiety then reach extremes! I suffer from what only can be described as pulsing head rushes! Like I can feel my pulse in my brain! I almost feel like as soon as all attention is on me and I begin to speak, I will just pass out. And when I do eventually start talking, I just say what I've "rehearsed" and then I'm so exhausted after it, I don't continue on what I want to say. It's so frustrating.

I almost feel like my social anxiety is only physical! I know that these people are my friends and would never judge me. I know what I want to say is valuable but my body just reacts so badly to talking out.

Yesterday, I had my worst panic attack in years. I'm sure you know all the symptoms, it was terrifying and a shock to some of my friends as they never suspected I suffered with this. But I just feel like I can not let this affect me any longer or get in the way of my academic ambitions! I will not let it defeat me!