PDA

View Full Version : This is me

xjlmummy
25-04-07, 16:48
Hello,

I've just come across the site and hope to learn from your experiences how to cope better with my depression/panic/agoraphobia/general anxiety/social phobia.

A bit about me; I'm 43, married for 2nd time to a good man who has his own mental health issues. I have 3 sons, 14 (with mild autism) 9 (awaiting assessment) and 2 (so far so good!). I'm educated to Masters level (supposed to be doing PhD at the moment) and usually work at senior management level; I used to work as a mental health nurse. Please understand, I'm not um "bigging myself up" or whatever:blush: - just trying to explain what a shock it is to feel so out of control and a failure.

I have a longish history of depression and over the past 3 years it has meant taking several months at a time off work. I've been on Paroxetine 20mg since September last year. I've also always found social situations awkward, but ok if I know what my role is (e.g. work-related, parent etc. Not good at crowds, chit-chat type encounters). Anyway things have got a lot worse this year and came to a head a month ago when I had a massive "panic attack" while driving on a motorway. I thought I was dying, couldn't breathe, heart racing, head whoshing, stomach hurting with stress. I was absolutely convinced that I was going to die. This is a big part of the whole experience, that I am doomed in some way, either to be killed horrifically or that I have some undiagnosed condition (brain tumour maybe?) and no-one takes it seriously.