PDA

View Full Version : Health anxiety physical symptoms - own story

Eerie
24-03-17, 15:37
Hi everyone. This is fairly long, but I hope my story will help people who are battling the same situation. I personally seek reassurance, as I am deeply disturbed. I am new to this, I am 22, been struggling with anxiety since the beginning of the year following a sudden event in my family which turned out ok. This anxiety developed into health anxiety about a month ago.
It all started with persistent increased heart rate and palpitations which sent me to the ER. They had some bloodwork done, several EKGs, heart ecography, holter for 24h, had been seen by an endocrinologist and another doctor, they said it was all stress, all tests turned out fine. I had only some potassium issues and a slight UTI. I was put on beta-blocants, calcium, magnesium, potassium and xanax. I took the xanax only for 3 nights. Insomnia due to first palpitations, then restlessness, continued for two weeks, along with occasional chest pains. Then, I began taking antibiotics for my UTI and it got worse (no pain, just frequent urination and disconfort down there). Later I tried another antibiotic... This whole thing lasted for about five weeks and even got me to an urologist (thought it was a tumour). Everything was fine.
About a week after I stopped the beta blocants and maybe due to job interview stress, I got insomnia and palpitations once again. I went to a homeopath who gave me Ignatia amara, first CH7, then CH30. Didn't help much. I actually wonder if it did not cause all of the following symptoms: