PDA

View Full Version : Propanolol and muay thai boxing

Sultan
28-03-17, 11:11
Hi guys, its my first time posting a thread, using an online forum.

I have been suffering from anxiety and depression for a long time and I was on citalopram 10 mg initially and then upgraded to 20 mg but it didn't work on me, sometimes better sometimes even worst. Recently I am prescribed propranolol 40 mg, one tablet a day. I forgot to ask my doctor if i could continue taking citalopram with propranolol and to continue muay thai boxing (which is an intense exercise). I have started taking this medicine and I'm experiencing worst side effects, I am having blurry vision, feeling tired, dizzy and don't want to do anything.

I am worried if I could continue my thai boxing with these medicines.? ( I don't want to stop box) :weep:

Experiences shared will highly be appreciated.

Thanks.

panic_down_under
28-03-17, 11:56
Hi guys, its my first time posting a thread, using an online forum.

Welcome to No More Panic, :welcome:

I have been suffering from anxiety and depression for a long time and I was on citalopram 10 mg initially and then upgraded to 20 mg but it didn't work on me, sometimes better sometimes even worst.

How long did you take 10mg citalopram, and how long have you been on 20mg?

Recently I am prescribed propranolol 40 mg, one tablet a day.

Propranolol is not an anti anxiety med as such, but blocks the adrenaline fuelled symptoms of the flight-or-fright response which can be so disturbing to those of us with an anxiety disorder. It has a fairly short half-life so is often prescribed to be taken twice a day.

I forgot to ask my doctor if i could continue taking citalopram with propranolol

Yes, you can, and I assume that was your GPs intention as propranolol is not effective for depression. However, you probably should clarify this with your doctor.