PDA

View Full Version : newbie alert

lilmiss
27-10-04, 20:47
hello people, im a newbie and i really need some info or advise. i have had panic attacks very rarely since I was 18, im now 22, but lately i have had them more and more frequenly until now when they are almost constant. the doctors have said that there is nothing wrong and that its just one of those things until i realised that they are panick attacks. Im finding it so hard to go to work and im taking more and more time off which worried me all over again, my mum htinks that i should ignore it and itll go away, which drives me mad bcoz im sure she thinks im making it up, and my bf is amazing but i rely on him so much, its come to the point that for the last 2 days, to get me to work he has walked me there and sat outside my office all day!!! im so desperate for some help of any kind, i get so scared to even leave the house and when im home all i worry about is the next time im supposed to leave. i cant bear it. help me please xxx

Meg
27-10-04, 21:04
Hi

Welcome to the site

Do you know what started them off to start with ?
What part of having a PA is the worst for you ?
What have you done so far to help yourself ?

Your Bf sounds fantastic -- make sure he knows you appreciate all his help and dedication

Your Mum is somewhat right in that ignoring the symptoms does help some of them but is unlikely to stop the overall panic feelings until you know and understnad why they are there . Its very possible originally you had oen reason for panicing and now its a habit with new self taught triggers

Thoughts : Lets try to keep our thoughts in perspective (http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=283)
First Steps : First Steps to overcoming Panic and Anxiety (http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=942)

Do stick around and we will support you in your journey to recovery

Meg

It is impossible to get out of a problem by using the same kind of thinking that it took to get into it.
- Albert Einstein.