PDA

View Full Version : I know we'll all beat this! But the fight is exhausting :(

Fergggg
09-04-17, 21:27
Hey gang,

New to the board, read some replies and threads here and found it a great comfort to see I'm not alone in my anxious spells.

Just wanted to share my story and maybe get some advice. Been off work for a week as of tomorrow and they're being incredibly supportive. I've been working in a cafe for five years now while I went through University. After I graduated (last October), I was incredibly excited to finally get started in the big bad world. I'd had panic attacks before, and had one the morning of my graduation (my surname ensured I was the first to be called on stage at graduation, which FREAKED me out) but because I've always been a worrier and had suffered mild-to-severe panic attacks before, I thought nothing of it. Flash forward about two weeks and I had one while getting my haircut one Saturday morning. Again, I explained it away as I'd been heavily drinking that weekend with friends, so I figured it might be a byproduct of the alcohol. In the coming months (Nov/Dec/Jan) I had two, maybe three mild panic attacks due to feeling a bit stuck in my life. A six year relationship had collapsed two years prior, failed dating, friends moving on around me and still working in the cafe at 28 years old had me feeling pretty glum.