PDA

View Full Version : New here with panic ...

Mika76
29-04-07, 10:34
Hello all! I am a 30 year old male from Amsterdam. I habe been, suffering from panic attacks on and off since an experience when I was 16 with drugs ... It got to the point in the beginning of my 20s when I couldn't leave the house in the evening anymore ... I followed 5 years of therapy, which really helped me go forward. Since then, I have been able to leave the house again, have fun, find a great job, basically live a normal life (almost ...)! The last step to my total healing is going very far away from home during the night (strangly, during the day it does not seem to be an issue). When I say very far it's more than 200 km away from my comfort zone... I never really dealt with this, but lately I have had a job opp in London (I work in banking) that I have had to refuse because of my panic attacks. I started CBT a few months back, and it has been helping ... I slept more than 200km away from home (Luxembourg twice already), went three times to London during the day ... and even though i was nearvous it went well ... I tried to sleep in London twide, but this was too overwelming for me (maybe a step too far too fast?). I know I have to confront the problem head on, but as you all know it's not always easy ... I was wondering if any of you had experience with CBT... I think it really works, maybe I was naive to think that 15 years of conditionning were going to dissappear after only 2 months of therapy ... I do feel like the fact of not goign to London is a failure, on the other hand I also feel like I need to be more patient and not run before I can wallk. Any feedback is greatly appreciated ... Good luck to all, I'm the living proof that stuck at home a few years ago, with time, belief and the right approach, you can get over it !

groovygranny
29-04-07, 10:39
Hello Mika, big :welcome:to you!