PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

johnnicholls
29-04-07, 22:40
Hi my name is John and I'm new to this.
I started having panic attacks about 2 months ago. I thought I must have a problem with my heart or something and it was very scary. I was driving at the time and stopped the car to walk about and go to a shop to buy water! I also bought some asprin because I'd heard that it would thin my blood if I was having an attack!
Since then I have been to a&e twice, the first time I had an ecg and a chest x-ray. It was all clear. The last time I went to a&e the doctor listened to my explaination and immediately said I was having panic attacks. Now I've always been a laid back guy, but this doctor was telling me about my symptoms before I told him myself. The next day I saw my GP and he told me the same thing. I'm still having trouble getting my head around it, but when I was at a&e the doctor, DR DeCruz told me to look up my symptoms on the internet, which I did. I have chest pains, tingling in my hands and feet, a feeling of impending doom and even death. It's amazing how real it feels, and how desperate I feel. My wife is naturally concerned but cannot understand my feelings and I find it difficult to describe them. I have had an attack today when I was certain I was going to die. Absolutely sure of it. I got on the t'internet and found this site, which has really helped. It is so good to read about people having the same feelings, so thanks to you all. At the moment I feel relaxed, but feel unsure if I'm going to get the attacks back, so I'm going to get back to this site. Trying to not have to see a phsycotherapist and definately don't want drugs.
Thanks for reading my story, and I hope to educate myself more from this site. :D

John.

kelbob
29-04-07, 22:45
aww well :welcome: to the site..hope you get all the support/advice you need xxx

PM me anytime xx

you will make loads of great friends xxx :flowers:

:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

honeybee3939
29-04-07, 22:49