PDA

View Full Version : Mouth Ulcer panic, Am I going to die? :(

TonettaKringle
22-04-17, 11:44
I have a ache in my left side in my cheek, for a week or so, My mum looked in my mouth, and saw it was super swollen with a inflamed blister like thing.
It hurts to brush my teeth on that side. I'm so scared, Is this normal?

axolotl
22-04-17, 11:54
Mouth ulcers are very common things (and can be very painful). The odd one means nothing and is just one of those things - I get them every so often. If you're poking it or playing with it with your tongue you'll make it hurt more. A pharmacist will be able to give you mouthwash if it's annoying you.

Obviously I'm not a doctor or dentist and if it persists get it checked out, but the chances of it being anything to worry about are vanishingly small, whereas mouth ulcers are super-common and something everyone gets.

If your first thought from getting a mouth ulcer is "am I going to die?" you probably need to do something to work on your anxiety.

TonettaKringle
22-04-17, 11:55
Well I do have anxiety, And I googled it....So of course the C word came up, And it does sound like a mouth ulcer?

axolotl
22-04-17, 11:58
Well I do have anxiety, And I googled it....So of course the C word came up, And it does sound like a mouth ulcer?

With the usual caveat non-medical people can't diagnose people over the internet, if I had something that fits that description I would just presume a common or garden, harmless but annoying, mouth ulcer.

Don't Google health symptoms, but you know that right?

TonettaKringle
22-04-17, 12:00
I do but it's the weekend....you can't help it.

axolotl
22-04-17, 12:04
I do but it's the weekend....you can't help it.

Eh?

TonettaKringle
22-04-17, 12:05
No chance of getting to the GP until Monday, and when I panic, I google stuff.

axolotl
22-04-17, 12:11
No chance of getting to the GP until Monday, and when I panic, I google stuff.