PDA

View Full Version : Feel very let down with how my boss handled by depression diagnosis

ClipClop
27-04-17, 20:26
Hello everyone,

I'm a manager of a medical clinic and I've been suffering from a rebound of depression, anxiety and insomnia, most certainly brought on by the high stress of my job, the crazy long hours and working with a passive aggressive bully (not my boss but acts like they are).

I made the brave decision two days ago to email my boss (who works off site and only visits intermittently) that I have been diagnosed with depression. This was in response to an email she sent me saying that she wanted to meet with me next week as she was concerned about me and wanted to discuss how I was managing the clinic. I've told her before about the bully (quite a few people have left because of him) but she seems to think I should just 'fix' it. I was so concerned she'd see any of my behaviour as a performance issue, that I decided to tell her the truth about the depression.

Anyway, she didn't reply to it. What she did do is, two days later, simply ask if she could postpone our meeting as something come had come up! She even spelt my name wrong and she didn't even acknowledge what I had said about the depression. I ended up replying and asking if she had received my original email - that I was worried about telling her and I wanted to know. She replied quickly just to she had and was 'sorry I didn't reply'. I was so disgusted at this lack of care towards me, and mental health in general, that I just replied again saying 'I'm glad you received it. It takes a lot of courage for anyone to open up about mental health and I was concerned with the no reply'. She hasn't responded.