PDA

View Full Version : New Job Terror

Munki
22-05-17, 13:16
Hi All,

Haven't been here for a while. Hoping you can help me sort this all out.

I've been studying for 6 years now. I graduated from my undergrad last year and am now doing a masters in a crime related subject. I've worked for myself for several years alongside study which doesn't pay brilliantly but it's kept me going.

I have recently applied for a police related admin job and have been successful. However, the job is full time and I feel nothing but dread. I'm sure I can do the job, this doesn't concern me. What does is that I'm an incredibly free spirited, hardworking person who hates being tied to set hours therefore I'm filled with dread!

The job won't start for a few months but its affecting my dreams, my anxiety and each time an email pings through I'm filled with dread. Like I said, the hours are okay (8am to 4.30pm) and its not far. I've already planned that I'd rise at 5.30 to get my morning workout in as that's essential for mind health for me.

But its taking over my mind and I am dreading it. My husband is so excited about the role and everyone keeps asking about it. I don't want to let anyone down and I know I need to take it. I just want to know if I should follow my gut (which we all know is deceptive when we have anxiety) or face the fear.

I've done a lot of training and this role is in the right direction. I planned to get in there, learn what I can then set up as self employed within 5 years. What if I really can't handle it?

I'm actually terrified and I don't know if its a sign or simple fear!! How do you decipher this?

Even when people say, 'just try it', it doesn't help. I'm crippled with fear and its ruining my life!
:weep:

SLA
22-05-17, 13:33
I've done a lot of training and this role is in the right direction. I planned to get in there, learn what I can then set up as self employed within 5 years.