PDA

View Full Version : Feeling panicky after a yoga class - is that even possible?!

KalmsBaby
22-05-17, 21:23
Hey guys

So, been suffering with panic attacks for the past 3 years & after trying CBT & refusing to take prescribed meds as made my anxiety worse, I decided to take up yoga as a last resort in kicking these dreaded attacks as have heard nothing but amazing things & how life changing it is.

I'm a complete newbie to yoga & the first few classes have been absolutely awesome & I've found them really helpful & relaxing up until today...

Got home, made some food, sat down watching Eastenders then BAM! The dreaded panicky feeling rears it's ugly head & now I'm here.

Do any of you do yoga & do you find it helps? Have you found yourself feeling panicky within an hour after the class or am I just doomed? :weep::weep:

KalmsBaby
22-05-17, 22:07
Hey Absol

Thanks for your comments & advice & well done with taking your meds... That's something I seriously struggle with so have stopped altogether now. I was prescribed Propranolol to slow my heart down so would then freak out I took too much & my heart would stop beating all together. Turns out they're not as safe as the docs made out either as the withdrawals from weening myself off them were horrific so that was the end of that! The withdrawals were so bad I'd have severe headaches, dizziness & detachment where it got to the point I would freak out thinking I had a brain tumour & was about to drop dead there & then at my desk at work or my head was literally about to explode.

The last time I took them I ended up in A&E with chest pain thinking my heart was about to stop. I won't be touching them for a while. The only thing I trust now are Kalms as they're herbal. Oh & green tea... Lots of green tea hahaha