PDA

View Full Version : How much should one push oneself?

Mona38
08-06-17, 20:30
I have always been anxious. I don't remember NOT being so. I think of myself as courageous because even though the things I do (like go to work, go to town etc) are what some people do easily, I don't.
I try to push myself. I took a flight abroad to see a friend in January. I thought I was going to die I was so scared! I was miserable and homseick and it was only a weekend! I was sure I would never see my family again and that I was actually not going to make it. I went and I'm pleased I went as I could tick that box (stupid I know) but it made me realize just how debilitating my anxiety is. Fast forward to June. This weekend I have arranged to go to the sea with friends. My idea! We are taking it in turns to drive. After a car crash years ago I am a VERY nervy driver but don't want to say so nor be selfish and just enjoy the ride so I will drive too...on motorways which I am terrified of! I am trying to trick my brain into finding regular things okay but the lead up to anything I do like this is punishing. I cry like a baby, I don't sleep, I feel sick...I am quite agoraphobic. If I can't be sure I can get away from a situation I get really worried.