PDA

View Full Version : Work Anxiety

alicia10
11-06-17, 17:55
Hi everyone,

I have suffered from quite severe anxiety and OCD for about 8 years now after a breakdown during my second year of University. I am proud to say that despite this I finished my degree, as well as the LPC and I am now a solicitor.

My difficulty now is that my GAD seems to be really focused on my work at the moment. My job is quite stressful and unfortunately I am not coping very well. To put this into perspective I had an appraisal about a month ago. I barely slept for over a week before this and thought I was going to be told that I was absolutely terrible at my job role and pretty much convinced myself I was going to be fired. This is not at all an exaggeration. In reality I achieved an 'outstanding'. However, even this didn't really give me any peace of mind. I find myself constantly worried that I have screwed up, or will screw up (legal work does involve quite a few calculated risks) and that I will be fired. This is devastating, because I have worked so hard to get to where I am.

It has got to the point where I am so irritable and stressed that I snap at those I love and don't spend enough time with them because I just collapse with mental exhaustion from the anxiety each day. All I want to do on weekends is sleep for hours and hours to recharge my batteries. It breaks my heart because the anxiety means I hate a job that I really should love. I also don't see any way around this? I have to keep doing what I'm doing, but over time I am getting more and more burnt out to the point where I can't stay late as much as I used to because I am just so tired that I need to go home and sleep.

Does anybody have any advice? I have recently upped my Citalopram prescription to 20mg from 10mg but this has not helped. I used to take sleeping tablets (Zopiclone), which was great but of course are only a really short term fix.

Thanks!

Rick(amateur)
12-06-17, 04:50
Hi Alicia,