PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety is getting in the way of finding a job

amyamyamy14
16-06-17, 14:55
I'm currently studying my Master's degree in literature/publishing, where I am scoring top marks. Last year, I also completed an internship at an established publishing house, and I'm currently doing another internship at a major arts organisation.

Yet, my anxiety holds me back from doing well at job interviews :(

Even though I know I'm capable of doing the jobs that I'm getting interviews for and I have a solid CV, I bomb out at interviews as I let my anxiety get the better of me.

I know the job market is tough, and publishing is a difficult industry to break into, but I've had so many opportunities and I've lost out on all of them. Maybe I'm just too hard on myself, and I'm being overly self-critical. It's really getting me down, and I'm losing all my confidence. I feel like I'm not meeting the expectations I've set for myself (and I feel others have for me), and I'm failing.

I had another job interview today at a big publishing house, and I don't think I did as well as I could of. The thing that's getting me down the most about today's interview is that my lecturer got me the interview through her connections and I feel like if I don't get this one, she's going to be disappointed.

I give off the vibe to my peers and lecturers that I'm confident and extroverted, but it's all an act, I'm actually an anxious mess and very shy.

Rick(amateur)
16-06-17, 16:36
Hi amyamyamy14,

We are indeed our biggest critic so, when things aren't going our way, we think that we are incapable and a failure. I've definitely made plenty of mess in life and had been quite a failure so far. As long as you are confident in your abilities, you will find a job that works for you. Know that rejections are common at interviews. It's something I've learned and I've only been searching for minimum wage jobs. One can only imagine how fierce the competition your workplaces are.