PDA

View Full Version : Anxious about life

TheCatWhisperer
04-07-17, 02:13
Hey, I'm a recent chemistry graduate and I'm absolutely dreading getting a job. I've always been shy and a nervous wreck when it came to job interviews, even if it was a part time job at a supermarket. I know I can perform well when I put my mind to it and when I'm not anxious but since I graduated my anxiety has got 10 times worse.

I booked a holiday with my friend and for a whole week before I couldn't get out of bed as I was constantly crying and nervous and I couldn't tell you why. After forcing myself to go on holiday, I felt more like myself until half way through I received a message from someone telling me my boyfriend had cheated on me. I was absolutely devastated and things went down hill from there. Since then, I am still with my boyfriend and I decided to start looking and applying for jobs. I have applied for a few and now I'm so scared in case I get a phone call from them. I can't deal with the stress it will cause but at the same time I need a job so I'll be kept occupied.

I'm not enjoying life anymore and all I want to do is lie in bed and sleep all day. I don't want to eat anything when I'm stressed so I've had to force myself to eat lately. I've been taking citalopram 30mg for 7 months now and I'm not sure if it is helping with my anxiety much. I've been referred to counselling but I was too anxious to arrange an appointment. What do they do at counselling?

Sorry for rambling on but I'm not sure what to do. I should be having fun and enjoying life at my age.. What do you suggest I do? Should I keep applying for jobs and try to get past the initial stress of interviews and starting a new job??

Thank you

Rick(amateur)
04-07-17, 23:26