PDA

View Full Version : Taking xanax?

nervousnelly52
05-07-17, 20:48
Hi everyone

I'm wondering if it's okay to take xanax. An ER doctor wrote a script for me after yet another nervous breakdown over health problems. Should I fill the prescription or wait to see a psychiatrist before I do? I know these drugs can cause big problems.

.Poppy.
05-07-17, 21:05
Taking one won't hurt you. It would probably be a good idea to book an appointment with a psych, just to make sure that it's really what you need and that the dosage is correct. For example, my doc prescribed my Lexapro but then got me in with a psych and I learned the dosage my doc had given was too low. No biggie, we just fixed it.

I have very little experience with Xanax other than my dog tried to take it for his anxiety :). There was absolutely no reaction - positive or negative. So we moved onto something else.

What dosage were you given?

nervousnelly52
05-07-17, 21:08
Hi! It was 0.5 mg, 20 tablets

Fishmanpa
05-07-17, 21:24
That's a low dose. My doctor prescribed that for me when I was dealing with my wife's illness. I have that on standby as a chill pill if needed. Definitely helped me. Problem is, it can be addictive and IMO is not a long term solution.

Positive thoughts

snowghost57
05-07-17, 22:20
I agree with Fish.

christy67
05-07-17, 22:33
I take it as needed. It's really helped me get through some difficult times. I've had no problems with becoming dependent on it. I'm pretty careful with with it. Taking it a little more lately because I'm going throgh HA

.Poppy.
05-07-17, 22:43
Also agree with FMP. Taking one now if you really feel you need it is perfectly fine. I'd still see a psych though, as there is probably a better long-term solution for you if you need it.

TattooArtist
06-07-17, 03:14