PDA

View Full Version : Career Advice

twister
07-11-04, 22:42
Hi

It turns out I may be losing my job sometime early next year and I want to do something that will help me forward my second career - psychology- which I am currently doing a degree in.

I need to get some kind of experience working with people as so far I have none. When I graduate I would like to work in either counselling or forensic psychology so would particularly like to do something in this field. The big problem is I have no work experience or qualifications in this field, coupled with a lot of debt meaning I can't work for peanuts.....

Does anyone have any ideas of what I can do, or where I can look for work in this field. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot

Emily

Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit
Understanding is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad

davebrum
08-11-04, 01:22
hi emily
i started doing all sorts of jobs, but then decided i had a gift working with people with learning dificulties. i didnt get many o levels at school so i sat my entrance exam for psychiatric nursing. i passed and became a nurse three years later nmh. i have said godbye to that now -i have talked to you in chat have you thought of counselling its profitable and fulfilling im druk tonight but i think you could do it you could help people like us
xx david

Sue
08-11-04, 17:00
Hi Twister,

Many jobs involve working with people. Something as simple as working in a shop.

If you want to do something that will help with your new career, what about something in the caring profession; old peoples home, disadvantaged children etc ?

Just a thought and I have no idea what the pay is like!

Sue

Merlinssister
08-11-04, 17:20
Sue's right. Care homes etc are good places to start. If you can find some time to do voluntary work student helplines are a good place to start, as is Victim Support.