PDA

View Full Version : Been referred to a physiatrist. Can anyone tell me what they do?

Leanne27
01-08-17, 11:12
Hey everyone.

I've been battling health anxiety for 5 to 6 years now. With bouts in between where I call my self "stable" I get severe OCD thoughts and can easily fixate on a medical problem and convince myself and body I have it. I always worry about other things like a few months ago I become obsessed about getting a pension and got so stressed and worried about it.

I have been on all sorts of Meds and had 4 rounds of CBT but I always relapse. I have not been referred to see a phyciatrist can anyone tell me what these will do? I don't no why I haven't been referred before now to be honest. Wish I had.

Thank you in advance

Cakelady
01-08-17, 12:47
Hi. I think it's a good thing to have been referred . I have one & only see her a couple of times a year but I know my cpn regularly updates her & gets advice on any medication or therapy that may help. They will look into your history & background. Just putting together a picture of you & the best way forward. Hope it all goes well & it's a really positive step:) Best wishes x

.Poppy.
01-08-17, 14:57
They'll ask you lots of questions about your history and the status of your mental health. They'll also look into the medications you're taking/have taken, and discuss whether or not any of them will be helpful.

When I finally saw my GP about my anxiety/depression, I luckily got referred to a psych right away (well, within a month). My GP started me on medication, but my psych tweaked it and added another that he thought would be more effective.

Modestaustin811
01-08-17, 16:53
Their sole purpose is to prescribe medication.

swajj
02-08-17, 11:32
Their sole purpose is to prescribe medication.