PDA

View Full Version : Onset of Pschizophrenia or Just Anxiety?

Hutch
27-05-07, 12:42
Hey guys, I have been experiencing anxiety for the last 2 months and have already started an SSRI (a week ago) and have also already got CBT scheduled to start very soon. Im a university student who lived in a dorm this year which was very stressful considering that I had a very negative roomate. Throughout the year i noticed changes in my social abilities. I lost confidence and it got to the point where I could barely hold a conversation with anybody. I have now returned home and even found it hard not to be aqward with my own parents and family, which was very upsetting. Anyways, the anxiety really hit after I got a call from a ex gf saying she was pregnant with my kid. This turned out to be wrong and was just one of her scandalous plans to get back with me (THANKGOD). Anyways I Immediately started to experience racing thoughts, dp/dr, palpitations, sweating, lack of sleep, the whole bag of goodies. Through careful self analysis I have come to the conclusion that my anxiety is caused by my worry of a serious mental disease, like schitzophrenia. And let me tell you, just writing the word sends chills down my spine. Does anyone know if people who suffer from schitzophrenia were aware of the onset of their mental illness. Or if they unknowingly drifted into insanity. Im sure most of you have experienced this fear so hopfully the post replies help more people than just me.

Alabasterlyn
27-05-07, 13:17
Hi Hutch, Well I don't know much about schizophrenia but I know many people with anxiety disorder do worry that they are going mad. I found this online test you can take that might be able to help you a bit.

http://www.schizophrenia.com/sztest/

Yale University PRIME Screening Test